Something went wrong.

We've been notified of this error.

Need help? Check out our Help Centre.

Our Story

The Fridge Door Gallery is McGill’s original student-run art gallery. Our mission is to exhibit, promote, and encourage the production of student art. Founded by a group of Art History students in 2007, the Fridge Door team organizes one exhibition per semester, drawing much deserved attention to the artistic achievements of McGill’s student artists.

In the absenceof a Fine Arts program, The Fridge Door Gallery is a unique and valuable addition to the McGill student experience. The gallery aims at providing the McGill campus with a creative arena, where students from any faculty may toshow their creative work, and where the student body at large has a chance toview works made by their peers and engage in discussion about visual art. We  also aim to help boost artist careers by forming a supportive sales network with peers and enthusiasts at no commission cost.

The gallery also provides Art History students with the valuable opportunity to apply critical skills they have acquired in the classroom in practice, and to gain curatorial and business skills through the exhibition planning process. The Fridge Door Gallery team is composed of an executive committee of 9 members and active volunteers who together curate, organize, and mount the exhibitions, and an eight member editorial board creating content for this website.

The Fridge DoorGallery is generously supported by:

  • McGill Alumni Association

  • Art History and Communication Studies Student Association (AHCSSA)

  • Arts Undergraduate Society (AUS)

  • Fine Arts Council (FAC)

  • The Dean of Arts Development Fund (DADF)

Executive Team

Co-President Catherine LaMendola

Co-President Dylan Brekka

Gallery Manager Chloe Rowan

Treasurer Chaerin Kwon

Director of Digital Content Brianne Chapelle

Head Curator Nat Kim

Head of Design Sophie Briand

Head of Marketing Lena Schwartz

Social Liaison Margaux Shraiman

Editorial Board

Director of Digital Content Brianne Chapelle

Associate Director of Digital Content Erika Kindsfather

Content Producer Ann Cernek

Content Producer Deanna Duxbury

Content Producer Jacqueline Hampshire

Content Producer Catherine LaRivière

Content Producer Kennedy Rooke

Content Producer Aimée Tian

Content Producer Sylvie Schwartz

Content Producer Louise Kronenberger

Content Producer Diana Sims

Using Format